The Rosary


The Rosary was Our Lady's gift to Saint Dominic and is one of the most powerful prayers in the Catholic spiritual armory. Pope Leo XIII was an avid proponent of the Rosary, stating in one of his numerous encyclicals on this form of prayer that the Rosary, if devoutly used, is "bound to benefit not only the individual but society at large."

Order of Prayers

  1. Apostle's Creed

  2. Our Father

  3. Three Hail Marys

  4. Glory Be

  5. Our Father - 10 Hail Marys - Glory Be - Fatima Prayer

  6. Hail Holy Queen Prayer

  7. O God, whose only Begotten Son, by Whose Life, Death and Resurrection, has granted for us the rewards of eternal salvation, grant, we beseech Thee, that while meditating on these mysteries of the Most Holy Rosary of the Blessed Virgin Mary, that we may imitate what they contain, and obtain what they promise, through the same Christ, our Lord, Amen.

Rosary Mysteries

Joyful Mysteries--For the spirit of Holy Joy

  1. Annunciation - Humility

  2. Visitation - Fraternal Charity

  3. Nativity - Spirit of Poverty

  4. Presentation in the Temple - Obedience; purity

  5. Jesus with the Doctors - Love of Jesus and devotedness to the duties of our state in life

Sorrowful Mysteries--For the spirit of Compassion, Contrition, and Reparation

  1. Agony in the Garden - Fervor in prayer

  2. Scourging at the Pillar - Penance, and especially mortification of the senses

  3. Crowning with Thorns - Moral courage

  4. Carriage of the Cross - Patience

  5. Crucifixion - Self-sacrifice for God and for our neighbor; forgiveness of injuries

Glorious Mysteries--For the spirit of Adoration and Faith

  1. Resurrection - Faith

  2. Ascension - Hope

  3. Descent of the Holy Ghost - Love and zeal for souls

  4. Assumption of Our Lady into Heaven - Filial devotion to Mary

  5. Coronation of the Blessed Virgin Mary - Perseverance