Six Commandments of the Church

The Six Commandments of the Church* Required

All Baptized Catholics must:

  1. Hear Mass on Sundays and holy days of obligation (if within a reasonable distance from a Catholic Mass)

  2. Fast and abstain on the days appointed and keep the Eucharistic fast (abstaining from food for at least three hours prior to Communion and abstaining from liquids for at least one hour prior to Communion)

  3. Confess sins at least once a year

  4. Receive the Holy Eucharist at least once in the year during Eastertide

  5. Contribute as far as one is able to the support of the Church

  6. Observe the laws of the Church concerning marriage